Taylor Swift named artist of the Year, All of Me voted Song of the Year at first SPINNR HITLIST awards

Taylor Swift “shook” off all comers as she emerged as the Artist and Album of the year awardee at the very first SPINNR HITLIST awards held at the Valkryie at the Palace at Uptown Bonifacio, Bonifacio Global City.


Swift bested nominees Maroon 5, Ariana Grande, One Direction and John Legend.

Legend’s song All of Me however, was voted song of the year for 2014.

The Hitlist award is SPINNRs way of honoring the movers and shakers of the music industry that has made it one of the most downloaded apps in the country.

Through the Smart’s homegrown music app, Music downloads have not been only successful in fighting CD piracy, they have also spawned an alternate world that empowers us to enjoy the soundtracks of our lives at the touch of our mobile phones.

20141217_211311 20141217_203504

“The digital downloading and streaming of songs have taken up a part of the music-loving market and it’s growing. This is where the Spinnr Hitlist is coming from — to recognize the kind of music that the public thrives on getting via digital downloading and streaming. With the Spinnr Hitlist Awards, we are also pushing the boundaries by bestowing appreciation of which songs, artists and albums performed well digitally. To us, this is a tangible representation of the Smart Life, which is the concretization of our Live More campaign over at Smart,” said Lucille Tang, Spinnr product manager.

“Spinnr, just one-year-old, has become the first and only homegrown music app that has shaped music lifestyles for most Filipino music lovers. We are extremely delighted to have piloted giving out recognition to the music industry via Spinnr. Spinnr Hitlist Awards is now the first local music app to honor the best in OPM and international acts through the digital platform.”


Here is the complete list of nominees and winners of the Spinnr Hitlist Awards
Spinnr Album of the Year
Frozen OST
The PHILPOP 2014 Album
Big Hero 6 OST
Winner: Big Hero 6 OST

Song of the Year
Problem – Ariana Grande and Iggy Azalea
Steal My Girl – One Direction
All Of Me – John Legend
Rude – Magic!
Winner: All Of Me – John Legend

Best Indie Artist
Julie Ann San Jose
Lee Grane
Mad Hatter Day
Veronica and I
Winner: Julie Ann San Jose

Best OPM Artist
Maja Salvador – Dahan Dahan
Karylle – Kiss You
Darren Espanto – Domino
Nikki Gil – Babalikan Mo Rin Ako
Myk Perez – Runaway
Kyla – Salbabida
Winner: Nikki Gil – Babalikan Mo Rin Ako

Artist of the Year
Maroon 5
Taylor Swift
John Legend
Ariana Grande
One Direction
Winner: Taylor Swift

Spinnr also recognized several devoted users who have contributed to their success, with the Loyalty Award (Gia Basa) and the Top Downloader Award (Jennifer Anne David). To spice things up a bit, fashion blogger Verniece Enciso also walked away as Best Dressed of the night!


IHOP offers bibingka pancakes this christmas season

Sarah Geronimo spends a Jolly Jolly Joy Joy Christmas at Trinoma