CINEMALAYA 2013 WINNERS: Vilma Santos wins best actress, No Best Actor winner

As Cinemalaya wraps off another successful year, it not only showcased the best of independent film making, but also established its high standards in selecting its winners, as there was no Best Actor Award winner for this year. 

The awards night was held at the at Tanghalang Nicanor Abelardo (Main Theater) of the Cultural Center of the Philippines.

Vilma Santos wins Best Actress at Cinemalaya
In the end, it was the bit player that outshined all other actors.
Gov. Vilma Santos,  who stars in Jeffrey Jeturian’s movie “Ekstra,” won the Best Actress award in the Directors Showcase at the 9th Cinemalaya Awards night held Sunday night. Surprisingly though, no Best Actor Award winner was named.
“Ekstra” also won three other awards including the Best Supporting Actress award for Ruby Ruiz, the Audience Choice award, and the Special Jury Prize.
The movie is a socio-realist drama-comedy that follows a seemingly usual day in the life of Loida Malabanan (Vilma Santos) as she embarks on yet another shooting day of a soap opera as an extra. As the shoot goes on, viewers get a glimpse of the truth in the ruling system of the production as well as the exploitation of the marginalized laborers like her.

The big winner of the night for the Directors Showcase category , however, was Jerrold Tarog’s “Sana Dati” hoarding all other awards including Best Film, Best Director, Best Supporting Actor for TJ Trinidad, Best Screenplay, Best Sound, Best Original Musical Score, Best Editing; Best Production Design and Best Cinematography.
Tarog’s film is a love story about a woman whose wedding is thrown into disarray when a mysterious person arrives and reminds her of the man she really loves. It is actually the third part of Tarog’s Camera Trilogy after Confessional  and Mangatyanan.
In the New Breed category, Hannah Espia’s “Transit” received the Best Film and Best Director awards.

with its lead stars, Irma Adlawan and Jasmine Curtis-Smith winning the category’s Best Actress and Best Supporting Actress awards respectively.  “Transit” also received a Certificate of Recognition for ensemble acting as well as the Netpac prize and Audience Choice award.

Mimi Jureaza meanwhile was named Best Actor for the film “Quick Change,” while comedian Joey Paras won Best Supporting Actor for the film “Babagwa.”

Here are the complete list of winners:
Audience Choice Award, New Breed Category: “Transit”
Audience Choice Award, Directors’ Showcase: “Ekstra” by Jeffrey Jeturian
Special citation for the sensitive topic of abortion: “Sa Wakas”

Best Screenplay – Paolo O’Hara, “The Houseband’s Wife”
Best Director – Jann Eric Tiglao, “Onang”
Best Film – “The Houseband’s Wife”
Special Jury Prize – “Taya” by Adi Bontuyan
Special Jury Prize – “Ekstra”

Best Performance by a Lead Actress – Vilma Santos, “Ekstra”

Best Performance by a Lead Actor – NO AWARDEE
Best Director – Jerrold Tarog, “Sana Dati”
Best Film – “Sana Dati”
Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role – Ruby Ruiz, “Ekstra”
Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role – TJ Trinidad, “Sana Dati”
Best Sound – Roger TJ Ladro, “Sana Dati”

Best Original Score – Jerrold Tarog, “Sana Dati”
Best Editing – Pats R. Ranyo, “Sana Dati”
Best Production Design – Ericson Navarro, “Sana Dati”
Best Cinematography – Mackie Galvez, “Sana Dati”
Best Screenplay – Zig Dulay, Antoinette Jadaone and Jeffrey Jeturian, “Ekstra”
Netpac (Network for Promotion of Asian Cinema) Special Award – “Ekstra”

Best Film – “Transit”
Best Director – Hannah Espia, “Transit”
Best Performance by a Lead Actress – Irma Adlawan, “Transit”

Best Performance by a Lead Actor – Mimi Juareza, “Quick Change”

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role – Joey Paras, “Babagwa”

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role – Jasmine Curtis-Smith, “Transit”

Best Sound – Michael Idioma, “Quick Change”
Best Original Score – Mon Espia, “Transit”
Best Editing – Benjamin Tolentino and Hannah Espia, “Transit”
Best Production Design – Roy Red, “Rekorder”
Best Cinematography – Ber Cruz and Lyle Nemenzo Sacris, “Transit”
Best Screenplay – Eduardo Roy Jr., “Quick Change”
Certificate of Recognition for Ensemble Acting – the cast of “Transit”
Special Jury Prize – “Quick Change”
Netpac Special Award – “Transit”

Bring out the Smiles from Mister Donut’s new goodies

Ethan Hawke Talks about THE PURGE